West Midlands top apprentices revealed at 2017 In-Comm Awards

Some of the most talented apprentices in the Midlands were recognised for their tremendous efforts and achievements over the last 12 months at our annual In-Comm Awards last Friday 19th May.

Now in its sixth year, the spectacular awards ceremony took place at
Grand Station, Wolverhampton.

Overwhelmed with the total of 250 entries, we had a difficult time narrowing the number down to just 33 apprentices from
24 companies.

However, out of those 33, it was Daleep Bhogal, a trainee toolmaker at Tricrest, who stole the show by winning the most prestigious award of the night – the ‘Peter Wood Outstanding Learner of the Year’.

As part of his prize, Daleep will be flown out to Chiron factories in Germany for a high-level CNC training course. This incredible trip for a promising engineer is to be funded by our main sponsor of the awards, ETG (Engineering Technology Group).

Daleep doubled up his success when he won the In-Comm Academy Learner of the Year accolade.

Martin Doyle, Managing Director of ETG, was part of the elite judging panel responsible for selecting the eventual winners, along with Neil Lloyd (FBC Manby Bowdler), Claire Davis from Moore Stephens and Richard Hughes (ETG).

The exciting evening was presented by songwriter and railway enthusiast, Pete Waterman, OBE, who shared his insightful
and personal story on apprenticeships.

Approximately 350 guests were entertained by live music and many hit the dance floor before the night came to an end.
A selfie competition also took place, where we received a handful of humorous images available for viewing on our Twitter.

A huge congratulations to all of our apprentices and
here is a full list of our 2017 winners:

Daleep Bhogal (Tricrest Limited) –  Learner of the Year – In-Comm Academy & Peter Wood Memorial Award Outstanding Learner of the Year

Oliver Eskriett – (Brandauer) – Learner of the Year – Engineering & Manufacturing Technologies

Maurice Hill (Lariot) – Learner of the Year – Business Improvement Techniques

Dixie Whitten (FBC Manby Bowdler) – Learner of the Year – Business Support

Lee Matthews (RMD Kwikform) – Learner of the Year – Supervisory Management

Tom Weaver (Frank Dudley Limited) – Special Recognition Award

Morgan Goule (Beacon Mouldings) – Most Improved Learner

Lee Pearson (Salop Design & Engineering) – Contribution to Engineering

IMI Precision – Employer of the Year

We are one of the UK’s leading providers of training and business services, working across more than 10 sectors and with 100 different companies.

If you would like to become an apprentice & even be one of our In-Comm Awards winners’ for next year, then please visit our website to see the courses we offer.