Finalists set to fight it out for In-Comm Awards 2017

Some of the best vocational talent in the Midlands will be on display later tomorrow when the In-Comm Awards 2017 comes to a glittering finale.

33 apprentices from 24 companies will be in the running to secure one of the 7 accolades, which includes Business Support Learner of the Year, Employer of the Year and Engineering & Manufacturing Technologies Apprentice of the Year.

There will also be special recognition for an employee that has gone over and above the call of duty to become an Ambassador for vocational learning.

Martin Doyle, Managing Director of Headline sponsors Engineering Technology Group (ETG), was part of a judging panel that also featured Neil Lloyd (FBC Manby Bowdler), Claire Davis from Moore Stephens and Richard Hughes (ETG).

He commented: “As we all know, Apprenticeships have taken on a whole new level of importance and are now getting the profile they rightfully deserve.

“The In-Comm Training Awards take this profile to a new level and the panel as a whole was delighted to see the quality of applications, the individual achievements on display and, importantly, companies willing to invest time and money into growing the next generation of staff.”


Finalists for the In-Comm Awards 2017



  • Andy Smith (Car Part Industries)
  • Lee Pearson (Salop Design & Engineering)
  • Stewart Davis (Salop Design & Engineering)


Employer of the Year


  • Brandauer
  • Brunel Healthcare
  • IMI Norgren
  • PP Control & Automation
  • Pro-Mil Engineering
  • William Mitchell


Learner of the Year – Supervisory Management


  • James Dwyer (Walsall Pressings)
  • Jason Hodgson (Rileys)
  • Lee Matthews (RMD Kwikform)
  • Sarah Green (S Jones Containers)
  • Will Peace (Bromford Industries)


Learner of the Year – Business Support


  • Courtney King – George Taylors
  • Danielle Hall – Action Today
  • Dixie Whitten – FBC Manby Bowdler
  • Faye Matts – George Taylors
  • Jade Higgins – FBC Manby Bowdler
  • Leanne Lockett – George Taylors
  • Skye Johnson – Alanto
  • Victoria Smout – Baldwin Gravestock & Owen


Learner of the Year – Business Improvement Techniques


  • Gaynor – Lariot
  • Maurice Hill – Lariot


Learner of the Year – Engineering & Manufacturing Technologies


  • Alex Morris – JSF Stainless
  • Ben Briguglio – IMI Norgren
  • Jack Sant – Brandauer
  • Mark Chamberlain – IMI Norgren
  • Michael George – Genex
  • Morgan Goule – Beacon Mouldings
  • Oliver Eskriett – Brandauer
  • Ryan Lingard – Cooke Brothers
  • Ryan Peake – Rubbernk
  • Sam Greensil – Phoenix Tooling



Learner of the Year – In-Comm Academy


  • Daleep Bhogal – Tricrest
  • Jack Hayes – PP Control & Automation
  • James Sutor – PP Control & Automation
  • Megan Jackson – PP Control & Automation
  • Michael Turner – PP Control & Automation
  • Oswin Barratt – Billcar Precision Engineering
  • Ryan Cooper Perry – European Heathyards
  • Tom Weaver – Frank Dudley



The Awards are due to be held at the Grand Station in Wolverhampton on May 19th. For a full list of our finalists, please visit www.(web link) and for the latest updates follow @incomm_training/#InCommA17 on twitter.